Reviews

Guest Reviews

All reviews are actual and unedited guest testimonials from our guest book or emailed to our website

Guest reviews for August Lodge:

Submitted 06-09-2014

“We stayed in the Sydney Suite and were very happy with the facilities and location of the lodge! Very spacious and couldn’t have asked for a better view! Literally 3 minute drive to Dreams Park made it very convenient traveling back and forth, especially for the lag time in between games. Staff very friendly and helpful, loved the continental breakfast available every morning, the Keurig available 24 hrs! Plenty of linens, towels were not the typical “scratchy” starchy smell, were very soft and lots of extra pillows were provided. Took advantage of the laundry room available. The pool and Jacuzzi were clean, water a perfect temperature and the kids loved it! We also used the outdoor grill which was convenient for our group bbq with picnic tables and nightly fires with smores was great! My son left his Cooperstown ring in the room which we discovered on the way home, called and they mailed it out right away so we received 3 days later. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience…. even though a little pricey for the suite but worth every cent. Would stay here again for sure!”


Submitted 05-23-2014

“We made travel plans up to Cooperstown without knowing anything about the area other than the Baseball Hall of Fame. We literally stumbled upon August Lodge and will never stay anywhere else when we visit the area. With two toddlers in tow, we had a GREAT GREAT experience. The rooms are spacious and CLEAN! We did not hesitate to let the kids play! The balconies are GREAT! The grounds are beautiful and the staff is absolutely most accomodating, patient and FRIENDLY! Do not pass the place up…it is GREAT!!! We will be back for sure!”


Submitted 04-06-2014

“I just wanted to let you know what a nice stay we had with you these past two nights. I’m so happy we chose to stay with you as the room was so clean, comfortable, and quiet. I also sincerely enjoyed chatting with you both last night and getting to know you a little better as you’re both very nice and friendly people.
We look forward to the time when we can come back and visit again. We wish you continued success in your business!”

Mark, Jeannie, and Cody R.
Herndon, VA


Submitted 08-03-2013

“August Lodge is the class of Cooperstown. To the owners Steve and Jamie:
Your vision of offering an upscale facility for guests to enjoy may be presented as second to none. To the staff: Thank you for accommodating our every need. Our stay here has provided us memories of a lifetime. We look forward to returning here in the near future.”

Dale, Sherri, Ross & Chris P.
Kristi, Blay & Luke Y.
Independence, MO


Submitted 08-31-2013

“Staying at the August Lodge added to the fabulous Cooperstown Dreams Park experience. You exceeded out expectations! The lodge was spacious, clean, quaint and the views were unbelievable. The service was terrific too. We highly recommend the August Lodge to anyone visiting Cooperstown!
Thanks for everything!”

Lynn and Jeff P.
Scottsdale, AZ


Submitted 04-22-2013

“I wanted to tell you what a wonderful time we had at your lodge. My husband and I have been to so many places and stayed that we can’t even count or remember but, I just wanted to let you know that the stay at your lodge was wonderful! It was the most peaceful, enjoyable and mostly comfortable place we have ever visited. The hospitality was next to none. You were so kind and helpful to us and not one suggestion were we steered wrong. Thanks again for such a memorable stay. Take care and I hope to visit you again soon.”

Jim & Barb S.


“I do have to say that the tone for our trip was set right from our first night that we spent with Steve and Jamie at the August Lodge (augustlodge.com) in nearby Milford (5 minutes from Cooperstown). Steve, a former Mainer, and his lovely wife Jamie (originally from Texas) are just the finest hosts and proprietors that you will ever get a chance to meet. They opened the August Lodge just a mere 9 months ago and have found themselves with one of the premier places to stay when travelling in and out of the Cooperstown area of New York State! The hospitality is second to none, the view from your room is breath-taking, the rooms are spacious, the air is crisp and clean.

Steve and Jamie made us feel right at home from the initial phone call to book our room right up until our checkout time and departure. Steve and Jamie are truly two of the most beautiful people that I have had the opportunity to meet and I hope that you also have the chance to meet them in your next holiday/vacation journey to Cooperstown! Steve and Jamie greet you as friends and when you leave, you are family and close friends! That is how I feel about my two new dearest friends! Thank you Steve and Jamie for a great time in your part of the world!”

Jim W
Portland, ME


“We want to say that we were just married on October 18th, 2008 and we spent our honeymoon here! August Lodge is absolutely beautiful! The whole place has a very rustic, but very comfortable feel to it. The people that work there are wonderful, and the cleaning staff does an excellent job, our room was immaculate! The location is great, beautiful countryside and very private, but still within minutes of many of the local attractions and town. Many great places to eat around there too! Having our honeymoon here was very special, it couldn’t have been any better, it was perfect. We would recommend the August Lodge to anyone and will definitely be staying there again sometime! Thank you August Lodge!”

Paul and Melissa P.


“We really enjoyed our stay Aug 1-8, 2011 at August Lodge. You were very kind to accommodate us and the other families from the Richmond area. The beautiful lodge, lovely view, nightly bonfires, and the availability of the pool and bbq grills made it all so great. Many thanks.”

David Morris
Midlothian, VA


“Our stay at August Lodge was great! From every detail of it’s spectacular views, country furnishings, room design, to the welcoming owners; the August Lodge was everything and more than we could have hoped for. We fell in love with the architecture and coziness of our room. We are both looking forward to our next stay at the August Lodge.”

Danny & Sarah D.
Pennsylvania


Submitted 08-06-2011

“If you build it… they will come! Everyone will come backfor more and send their friends & family!! You and your staff have made us feel right at home. it doesn’t get any better than this when you’re on the road. We appreciated every little detail and comfort you provided for us. Your hospitality made our stay the most unforgettable week we have experienced for baseball. Thank you Jamie and Steve…we will come and stay in your beautiful home again!!”

Scott T
Orland Park Magic


Submitted 06-30-2010

“The only place to stay when visiting Dreams Park and Cooperstown. Steve, Jamie and the rest of the staff were outstanding. Fantastic accommodations with spectacular views yet just up the hill from Dreams Park and a minutes ride to downtown Cooperstown. You would be mistaken to stay anywhere else. Don’t forget to take Allie on your walk through the beautiful trails on the property.”

The Gjer Family


Submitted 04-19-2008

“Hello Steve and Jamie. On April 12th, my wife and I stayed at the beautiful, August Lodge for our Honeymoon. It was a short 2 night stay(unfortunately)for us, but very enjoyable.
August Lodge get 5 stars from us. The two of you give customer service a new name. In fact, we will go as far as saying we didn’t feel like guests at all. You made us feel like family.
The room was beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. August Lodge is a top notch establishment. Steve & Jamie will make you feel right at home. We will recommend August Lodge to anyone in need of a place that feels like home. We thank you for making us feel like family.”

Jason & Heather B.


“Wonderful stay-really enjoyed it.”

Rich & Billie S.
Glendale, NY


“What a gorgeous place and a lovely stay!!”

Sue, Jay, & Adz L.
Cranbury, NY


“Excellent place. Very relaxing.”

Neal and Shanon T.
New York, NY


“Our family loved August Lodge, nice furniture, nice room! We will come again!!!!”

The Witte’s
Maryland


“Everyone had fun playing in the snow.”

Laura, Todd, Amanda, & Jessica M.
Medford, NY


“Happy 21st Anniversary – a wonderful stay.”

Susan & Scott H
Milford, NY


Have you had an especially good experience at our lodge? Then please leave a comment below.
If you’ve had a less-than-perfect experience with us, let us know as well. Of course we love praise, but we want all feedback to help make August Lodge the best lodging experience you can possibly have!
All comments are moderated, and your e-mail address will never be published.


Comments

Reviews — 1 Comment

  1. My family had a great time this past Memorial Day weekend staying at August Lodge. The setting is truly breathtaking. It brought back happy memories of being at sleep away camp. Our rooms were exceptionally clean, beautifully appointed and very comfortable. We enjoyed the heated pool and a long walk on a quiet, tree lined road. The staff was very accommodating and the host, Steve, gave us great suggestions of what to do in the area–and he has a great sense of humor. The whole experience was positive and we would highly recommend staying here. We’ll be back again, for sure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *