Reviews

Guest Reviews

All reviews are actual and unedited guest testimonials from our guest book or emailed to our website

Guest reviews for August Lodge:

Submitted 06-09-2014
We stayed in the Sidney Suite and were very happy with the facilities and location of the lodge! Very spacious and couldn’t have asked for a better view! Literally 3 minute drive to Dreams Park made it very convenient traveling back and forth, especially for the lag time in between games. Staff very friendly and helpful, loved the continental breakfast available every morning, the Keurig available 24 hrs! Plenty of linens, towels were not the typical “scratchy” starchy smell, were very soft and lots of extra pillows were provided. Took advantage of the laundry room available. The pool and jacuzzi were clean, water a perfect temperature and the kids loved it! We also used the outdoor grill which was convenient for our group bbq with picnic tables and nightly fires with smores was great! My son left his Cooperstown ring in the room which we discovered on the way home, called and they mailed it out right away so we received 3 days later. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience…. even though a little pricey for the suite but worth every cent. Would stay here again for sure!


Submitted 05-23-2014
From: Hope ……..

We made travel plans up to Cooperstown without knowing anything about the area other than the Baseball Hall of Fame. We literally stumbled upon August Lodge and will never stay anywhere else when we visit the area. With two toddlers in tow, we had a GREAT GREAT experience. The rooms are spacious and CLEAN! We did not hesitate to let the kids play! The balconies are GREAT! The grounds are beautiful and the staff is absolutely most accomodating, patient and FRIENDLY! Do not pass the place up…it is GREAT!!! We will be back for sure!


Submitted 04-06-2014
Name: Mark R.

I just wanted to let you know what a nice stay we had with you these past two nights. I’m so happy we chose to stay with you as the room was so clean, comfortable, and quiet. I also sincerely enjoyed chatting with you both last night and getting to know you a little better as you’re both very nice and friendly people.
We look forward to the time when we can come back and visit again.
We wish you continued success in your business!
Sincerely
Mark, Jeannie, and Cody R.
Herndon, VA 20170


Dale, Sherri, Ross & Chris P.
Kristi, Blay & Luke Y.
Independence, MO
7/27 – 8/3

August Lodge is the class of Cooperstown. To the owners Steve and Jamie:
Your vision of offering an upscale facility for guests to enjoy may be presented as second to none. To the staff: Thank you for accommodating our every need. Our stay here has provided us memories of a lifetime. We look forward to returning here in the near future.


Submitted 08-31-2013
Name: Lynn and Jeff
Phone: 480-951-
Email: lynn@

Staying at the August Lodge added to the fabulous Cooperstown Dreams Park experience. You exceeded out expectations! The lodge was spacious, clean, quaint and the views were unbelievable. The service was terrific too. We highly recommend the August Lodge to anyone visiting Cooperstown!
Thanks for everything!
Lynn and Jeff Palmer
Scottsdale, AZ


Submitted 04-22-2013:
From: Jim & Barb S.

I wanted to tell you what a wonderful time we had at your lodge. My husband and I have been to so many places and stayed that we can’t even count or remember but, I just wanted to let you know that the stay at your lodge was wonderful!
It was the most peaceful, enjoyable and mostly comfortable place we have ever visited.
The hospitality was next to none. You were so kind and helpful to us and not one suggestion were we steered wrong.
Thanks again for such a memorable stay.
Take care and I hope to visit you again soon.


Jim W. from Portland, ME

Hi Steve and Jamie! I thought that you might like to check out my latest blog at my myspace page! I hope that you like it. It is also posted at myspace.com/thejimwardshow. Here it is:

Well, here we are again writing another of these way to infrequent blogs that I probably should be writing a whole lot more but is too lazy to get of my butt and get it done.

This is the happiest time of my life as I just recently married the love of my life who, next to my son, is the sunshine of my life. Mary and I wed on Saturday, March 15th at Portland Maine’s historic Eastern Promenade on a windy and beautiful day!

The day was perfect in every way although the groom was a nervous wreck until my love of my life for the past 9 years finally arrived at the wedding site and actually said, “I Do.” After that, it was all a piece of cake! Our family gathered for a nice dinner and an afternoon of music, fun laughter, and a little bit of poker in the evening!

Our honeymoon took us to Cooperstown (NY), York (PA), Gettysburg (PA), and Baltimore (MD). The drive was magnificent, scenic, long, tiring, and yet one of the best drives I have ever taken!

Cooperstown was awesome as I remembered from my childhood visit back in 1982. This time it was even better for this baseball nut that loves everything about the game! The National Baseball Hall of Fame is a special and sacred place for the baseball fan to visit and pay honor to the greats of the game from yesteryear and today. From the statues of Babe Ruth and Ted Williams that greet you in the lobby to the Hall of Plaques, you find yourself turning a proposed couple of hours into an all-day visit because you just can’t get enough of this immortal shrine to America’s Pastime!

For me, Cooperstown embodies everything that is good about baseball and why we play the game as kids turn back into a kid again when they pass the great heritage onto their children as they toss the ball or play that first wiffleball game in the backyard. Cooperstown is tranquility at its best. The people are friendly and gracious. The town itself is a living and breathing postcard that comes to life right in front of your eyes! It is the true definition of Americana and what it is all about and it is also like the motto of Maine, “The Way Life Should Be!”

I do have to say that the tone for our trip was set right from our first night that we spent with Steve and Jamie at the August Lodge (augustlodge.com) in nearby Milford (5 minutes from Cooperstown). Steve, a former Mainer, and his lovely wife Jamie (originally from Texas) are just the finest hosts and proprietors that you will ever get a chance to meet. They openned the August Lodge just a mere 9 months ago and have found themselves with one of the premier places to stay when travelling in and out of the Copperstown area of New York State! The hospitality is second to none, the view from your room is breath-taking, the rooms are spacious, the air is crisp and clean.

Steve and Jamie made us feel right at home from the initial phone call to book our room right up until our checkout time and departure. Steve and Jamie are truely two of the most beautiful people that I have had the opportunity to meet and I hope that you also have the chance to meet them in your next holiday/vacation journey to Cooperstown! Steve and Jamie greet you as freinds and when you leave, you are family and close friends! That is how I feel about my two new dearest friends! Thank you Steve and Jamie for a great time in your part of the world!

After two nights in Cooperstown, it was time to head out on the road to Pennsylvania and down to York to visit my Brother and his wife and to see their part of the world and catch up on two years of lost time…….

York is a cool place to visit when traveling through the Poconos. Getting there is a wonderful experience of photographic memories the entire way there. York in the home of the Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Company and the first place that housed our nation’s Presidential Home. York is full of history everywhere you look. York is a good place to stay because you are within short driving distances from Philadelphia, Gettysburg, Lancaster, and Baltimore. Within all these locales from York you can see many great landmarks and places of interest!

Our journey on this trip brought us to the battlefields of Gettysburg where men from the North and the South shed their hearts, soul, and blood in one of our nation’s bloodiest battles in America’s history. Driving through theses, now peaceful, grounds you get a sense of that great battle from the monuments and plaques that pay homage to these men and boys from all over that gave their lives on the sacred battlefields.

From Gettysburg and it’s rainy 40 some-odd degree weather, we drove about 40 minuites and arrived in Baltimore. Baltimore is the home of the USS Constellation, Charm City Cakes (from Food TV’s Ace of Cakes), and the Baltimore Orioles of Major League Baseball. Although we didn’t get a chance to visit Oriole Park At Camden Yards (the home of the Orioles), we did infact get a chance to dine at the Hard Rock Cafe and visit the ESPN Zone next door after our meal. Both of these places are absolutely incredible and I certainly could have spent more time and money in both if I had the chance! Just outside the two establishments in an absolutely beautiful Aquarium that features a breath-taking man-made waterfall that is seen through a magnificent glass front to the building! I just wish we had been there earlier when the place was open to see it from the inside. We’ll save that for our next visit!

The Baltimore waterfront is full of life, music, atmosphere, cool shops, and restaurants that would tease the pallet of any man, woman, or child alive! From the waterfront seafood restaurant that feature the best crabcakes that Maryland offers to the ecletic estblishments and the of course those wonderful joints that will tempt your sweet tooth!

That was our trip in a nutshell and I wouldn’t change any of it for a minute! It was one of the best roadtrips I have ever been on and I have certainly been on a few. I definately urge you to get out and make a road trip with your family or friends. It is one of those things that will bring you closer, not only to your loved ones or friends, but to the beauty that is our wonderful country that most of us don’t ever get a chance to see. It is certainly hard with the price of fuel and I totally understand the finacial burdens that trips like these can put on the wallet. However, you don’t have to go away for a week. You can do day trips or a just a weekend excursion to nowhere and camp out. However you can do it, you have to do it! It will recharge you and revitalize you. Get out and see America! You won’t regret it! I promise you!

Take care for now!
Jim


We want to say that we were just married on October 18th, 2008 and we spent our honeymoon here! August Lodge is absolutely beautiful! The whole place has a very rustic, but very comfortable feel to it. The people that work there are wonderful, and the cleaning staff does an excellent job, our room was immaculate! The location is great, beautiful countryside and very private, but still within minutes of many of the local attractions and town. Many great places to eat around there too! Having our honeymoon here was very special, it couldn’t have been any better, it was perfect. We would recommend the August Lodge to anyone and will definately be staying there again sometime!
Thank you August Lodge!
Paul and Melissa P.


David Morris
Midlothian, VA

We really enjoyed our stay Aug 1-8, 2011 at August Lodge. You were very kind to accomodate us and the other families from the Richmond area. The beautiful lodge, lovely view, nightly bonfires, and the availability of the pool and bbq grills made it all so great. Many thanks. Dave Morris, Midlothian.


Danny & Sarah D. Pennsylvania write:

Our stay at August Lodge was great! From every detail of it’s spectacular views, country furnishings, room design, to the welcoming owners; the August Lodge was everything and more than we could have hoped for. We fell in love with the architecture and coziness of our room. We are both looking forward to our next stay at the August Lodge.


Scott T
Orland Park Magic
8/16/11

If you build it… they will come! Everyone will come backfor more and send their friends & family!! You and your staff have made us feel right at home. it doesn’t get any better than this when you’re on the road. We appreciated every little detail and comfort you provided for us. Your hospitality made our stay the most unforgettable week we have experienced for baseball. Thank you Jamie and Steve…we will come and stay in your beautiful home again!!


Submitted 06-30-2010:
From: The Gjer…. Family

The only place to stay when visiting Dreamspark and Cooperstown. Steve, Jamie and the rest of the staff were outstanding. Fantastic accommodations with spectacular views yet just up the hill from Dreamspark and a minutes ride to downtown Cooperstown. You would be mistaken to stay anywhere else. Don’t forget to take Allie on your walk through the beautiful trails on the property.


Submitted 04-19-2008:
Name: Jason M. B.

Hello Steve and Jamie. On April 12th, my wife and I stayed at the beautiful, August Lodge for our Honeymoon. It was a short 2 night stay(unfortunenately)for us, but very enjoyable.
August Lodge get 5 stars from us. The two of you give customer service a new name. In fact, we will go as far as saying we didn’t feel like guests at all. You made us feel like family.
The room was beautiful, comfortable, and quiet.
August Lodge is a top notch establishment. Steve & Jamie will make you feel right at home. We will recommend August Lodge to anyone in need of a place that feels like home.
We thank you for making us feel like family.
Sincerely,
Jason & Heather B.


Rich & Billie S. from Glendale NY wrote:

Wonderful stay-really enjoyed it.


Sue, Jay, & Adz L. from Cranbury, NY wrote:

What a gorgeous place and a lovely stay!!


Neal and Shanon T. from New York City wrote:

Excellent place. very relaxing.


The Witte’s from Maryland wrote:

Our family loved August Lodge, nice furniture, nice room! We will come again!!!!


Laura, Todd, Amanda, Jessica M. from Medford, NY wrote:

Everyone had fun playing in the snow.


Susan & Scott H. from Milford, NY wrote:

Happy 21st Anniversary – a wonderful stay.


Have you had an especially good experience at our lodge? Then please leave a comment below.
If you’ve had a less-than-perfect experience with us, let us know as well. Of course we love praise, but we want all feedback to help make August Lodge the best lodging experience you can possibly have!
All comments are moderated, and your e-mail address will never be published.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>